Quick answer:
The Unit Lesson List gives teachers a page in each unit to record the lessons taught. Contact us via Submit a request to switch it on.
The Unit Lesson List is an optional feature that provides teachers a dedicated page to record lessons taught in each unit. To enable this feature for your Atlas site, please contact us via Submit a request
Watch: Unit Lesson List
If lessons are enabled, the following will be visible:
- Show Lessons button located at the top of each unit.
- My Lessons under My Atlas, click here to learn more about My Lessons.
Once in the Unit Lesson List, you will see
- My Lessons tab, which contains any of the lessons you have created in this unit.
- Your course collaborators lessons will be listed to the right in the Other Lessons list, which you can click and view but you can not edit.
- Lessons with No Editors for lessons created under this unit that do not have any editors assigned.
- Any lessons denoted as District or Example lessons will be listed to the right in the District Lesson(s) list.
When a lesson editor leaves Atlas, their lessons can be:
- Copied by the course collaborators. The copies can be edited.
- Deleted by the course collaborators. View the lesson, and go to Actions > Move to Recycle Bin.
Add a New Lesson
From My Atlas > My Courses > select a Course > select a Unit > click Show Lessons > Unit Lesson List option, or from My Atlas > My Lessons, click Add New Lesson button.
- Required: Enter a Lesson Title.
- Required: Select the course.
- Optional: Select the unit.
- Optional: Enter the Duration of the lesson by choosing the date you will begin teaching it and finish it. This can be adjusted at any time.
- Optional: Select other lesson editors. If none selected, you'll be the only user who can edit this lesson.
- Optional (if enabled by the admin): Check or uncheck the box "All Curriculum Developers can edit this Lesson" to choose whether all other curriculum developers for this course should be editors of this lesson.
- Click Save and you'll be directed back to the lesson planner list. Click on the title of the new lesson to add the lesson details. To learn more about Lesson Development, click here.
Edit a Lesson
From My Atlas > My Courses > select a Course > select a Unit > click Show Lessons > Unit Lesson List option, or from My Atlas > My Lessons, click on any lesson you would like to edit.
- Align your lesson to the standards by clicking Choose Standards. You can select from Unit Targeted Standards or standards not targeted in this unit under Additional Standards.
- Enter the lesson Details. This box has the same functionalities as any category in your Atlas Unit Planner.
- Add lesson assessments and/or link the unit assessment to your lesson.
- Add an attachment to this lesson by clicking Attachments link, follow the steps to add the file type you want to add.
Atlas will automatically save the work you enter here, but you can also manually save by clicking the Save button at the top of the page.
Collaborative teams can't develop the same lesson at the same time. Once a collaborator edits a lesson, the lesson is locked until they leave the lesson, or after 12 minutes of no activity.
To learn more about Lesson Development, click here.
Delete Lesson(s)
You can only delete lessons belonging to you.
From My Atlas > My Courses > select a Course > select a Unit > click Show Lessons > Unit Lesson List option:
- Under the My Lessons tab, tick any box next to the lesson(s) you would like to delete.
- A Delete icon should appear at the top right side of your screen. Click this button when you have selected all the lessons you would like to delete.
- A pop-up box will ask you to confirm the deletion, click OK to place the unit in the Recycle Bin.
To restore a deleted lesson, click the Recycle Bin button in your Unit Lesson List page.
Due to cloud storage considerations that might affect your Atlas performance, we reserve the right to delete anything older than 3 years in the Recycle Bin.
Add Editor(s) to Lesson(s)
Lesson creators can add editor(s) to edit their lessons. From My Atlas > My Courses > select a Course > select a Unit > click Show Lessons > Unit Lesson List option:
- Under the My Lessons list tick the box next to the lesson(s) you would like to add collaborators to them.
- An Add Editor icon should appear at the top of your screen. Click this button when you have selected all the lessons you would like to assign to another collaborator (s).
- In the Add Editor(s) field, type in the first few letters of the collaborator's first or last name. Select the title that pops-up.
- Click Save.
Collaborative teams can't develop the same lesson at the same time. Once a collaborator edits a lesson, the lesson is locked until they leave the lesson, or after 12 minutes of no activity.
Mark a Lesson as Approved Example or District Lesson
If enabled, lesson editors can designate their own lessons as "District Lesson" or "Approved Example Lesson" to show up in the District Lesson tab of the Unit Lesson List. From My Atlas > My Courses > select a Course > select a Unit > click Show Lessons > Unit Lesson List option:
- Click on the lesson title you desire to mark as approved example.
- In Actions menu, click the Mark as District Lesson(s) option. The title may vary based on the feature name assigned by your admin.
Once the lesson is marked, it'll show up in the District Lesson(s) tab in the unit. Admins can assign lessons as Approved Examples via the Manage Lesson Settings.
FACTS Setup from Unit Lesson List
Open your course in Atlas and navigate to the Unit planner > Show Lessons > Unit Lesson List view.
Click the ↻ Sync FACTS Classes button at the top of the lesson list.
In the setup modal, select the specific FACTS Class / Section that corresponds to your Atlas course.
Click Save to save your selection. This will NOT push any data to FACTS. Your changes will be synced automatically during the next overnight sync, and the data will be available in FACTS the following day.
-
To push your updates immediately without waiting for the overnight sync:
change the date in Sync lessons scheduled after from its default setting (the admin-defined date, likely the first day of school) to today’s date or another date within the desired sync range in the Days ahead to sync.
Then click Sync Now to push the updates immediately to FACTS.
How Atlas Content Appears in FACTS
When creating lessons in Atlas, lesson plan fields map directly into FACTS sections:
| Atlas Lesson Field | FACTS Section | Notes |
| Field 1 (Default: "Details") | Lesson Plans | Atlas field name may vary if customized by your Atlas Admin. |
| Field 2 (Default: "Additional Details") | Homework Notes | Atlas field names may vary if customized by your Atlas Admin. |
FACTS Technical Limitations & Constraints
Data Overwrite Behavior: Lesson data pushed from Atlas will OVERWRITE any existing lesson data in FACTS.
Email Matching Dependency: Teacher accounts in Atlas and FACTS must use exact, identical email addresses for the synchronization mechanism to function.
Rich Media Handling: Embedded images are supported in Atlas and will initially remain visible in synced FACTS lessons. However, if a lesson is edited directly within the FACTS editor, any embedded images will be removed because FACTS does not support images in lesson plans.
Annual Archiving & Re-linking: The sync feature automatically deactivates whenever your Atlas site goes through its annual archiving cycle. System admins and teachers will need to re-link their new FACTS classes to Atlas courses at the start of each academic year.
Academic Year Alignment: Both Atlas and FACTS must be configured to the exact same active academic year for the synchronization job to process successfully.